Back To School Teacher Gift

As another summer comes to a close, I start seeing all my friends heading back to college, parents taking their kids back to school shopping, and family and friends start gearing up for another year of teaching, and it makes me kind of nostalgic. Seeing as I don’t have any kids (yet) and I’m a 3-year post college graduate in a successful, wonderful career (which is not teaching), I’m bummed I can’t participate in this exciting time of the year! So, I decided to create the perfect gift for one of my best friend’s returning back to another year of school – a personalized teacher gift! As my friend enters her third year of school specializing in Elementary Education, she will now begin her student teaching this year. And I don’t want my friend to blend in with her peers; I want her students to know who she is, loudly and proudly!

Materials:

• Thermal Travel Mug

• 12” x 12” Sheet of OraCal 651 Glossy Adhesive Vinyl  – Orange

• 12” x 12” Sheet of OraCal 651 Glossy Adhesive Vinyl – Black

• Transfer Tape/Painters Tape

• Silhouette Cameo Vinyl Cutter

Project Time: 15 minutes

To begin, I found a cute, bow vector online just by searching Google. She’s a sweet girly-girl so she’ll love the bow. Laughing Next, I found a bold font to match. I send my designs to my Silhouette and click “cut my design” using my Silhouette Software.

 

 

I decided to go with a travel mug because between juggling a part-time job, being a starting soccer player for her college team, her full-time class schedule, and commuting home to visit her boyfriend in the little spare time she has, she’s going to need some serious caffeine!

Once my designs are cut, using my painters tape I press firmly on my cut vinyl and peel away leaving only the text I want.

Then, I apply my text to my mug and smooth out with a credit card. Slowly pull away the tape and you have a perfectly straight text line. With two-color applications, I would suggest using transfer tape. It’s easier to see through to your first color so you can make a more precise application. I kind of wung it with this one but not too shabby, aye?

 

I follow these same steps for the bow on the opposite side of the mug.

Even though I like this, I feel like it’s missing something. I grab a circle design and make some small and large polka dots! Next I apply them in between my text and my bow.

 

Yay! I think it turned out pretty good! I might buy some pretty ribbon to tie around the top as an added embellishment. A gift just isn’t a gift without being wrapped or without a bow.

She will definitely be the coolest student teacher of the bunch! Laughing

Check out all of our creative blog ideas on our PinterestFacebook, and Twitter pages! Or check back each week at happycrafters.com/blog for new project tutorials that show you how you can do it yourself at home.

Leave a Reply

