Kids Picnic Table Makeover

If you have an old picnic table or table laying around that needs a diy touch, check out this picnic table makeover tutorial by Roeshel of DIYShowOff! Make one of these for your little ones or house guests!

Summer is the perfect time to pick up a child’s picnic table at yard sales. This one cost $15. It  was looking a little worse for wear:

kids picnic table before

I decided a little makeover was in order.

Materials:

• 2 cans of pray primer

• 2 cans of spray paint for the base (Rustoleum Oil Rubbed Bronze)

• 1 can Rustoleum (Lagoon) for “table runner”

• Spray clear coat

• FrogTape

• Vinyl decals (I made my own using supplies from Happy Crafters)

Tutorial:

First, lightly sand the picnic table give a good spraying with the pressure washer.

washing picnic table

This also comes apart somehow, but I couldn’t figure it out so I didn’t bother. Apply a coat of primer:

DIY plastic picnic table transformation

Then spray paint:

painting plastic picnic table tutorial

I let it dry and ‘cure’ for a few days.  Using my FrogTape, I created a rectangle (table runner) outline on the table part of the picnic table and taped off the rest of the table top.

child's picnic table makeover

Using my Silhouette Cameo and Silhouette Design Studio software, I created and cut out custom letters for a dinner time prayer.

Silhouette Studio designer software

Happy Crafters

I applied the sticker type vinyl letters to the center of my rectangle and made sure FrogTape and vinyl letters were pressed down securely.

kids picnic table makeover

Then gave it a coat of spray paint in Rustoleum’s Lagoon. (I used a large piece of cardboard to shield the benches.)

painting plastic picnic table

Peel away the FrogTape and decals while the paint is still wet

.picnic table makeover

Let dry for a few days. Then I used my FrogTape again to create a border around my “place mat” and filled it in with DecoArt’s Patio Paint. Then peeled away my FrogTape and again…let it dry for a few days.

painting kids plastic picnic table

I had to touch up the paint here and there. Then sealed it with a spray clear coat (satin finish) and let that dry.

clear coat

Much better!

childs picnic table makeover after

Now it fits in with our patio color scheme:

plastic picnic table makeover

*This sponsored by FrogTape. FrogTape provided by Shurtech. The opinions are completely my own based on my own experience.
 FrogTape Blog Squad

 *Vinyl provided by Happy Crafters.

HClogopngsmall

Leave a Reply

